Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

KArlsruhe Liquid Metal LAboratory, KALLA

Warmly welcome at the web pages of Karlsruhe Liquid Metal Laboratory KALLA. With these pages, we want to give you an impression of our work.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, if you have any questions:

thomas.wetzel∂kit.edu

 
KALLA

 

Our work focuses on the following topics:
 

Thermal hydraulics of liquid metals

At the Karlsruhe Liquid Metal Laboratory (KALLA), various experiments are carried out in order to characterize and better understand the physics of flow and heat transfer in molten metals, which differ significantly from those of conventional liquids like water or air. The experiments reach from generic arrangements to complex geometries from real world applications. As test fluids lead, lead-bismuth, sodium and eutectic indium-gallium-tin mixtures are used. At KALLA, we operate several liquid metal loops, from lab to pilot scale. Comprehensive liquid metal-specific measuring equipment is being qualified and developed at KALLA. more

 

Liquid metal technology for concentrating solar thermal power plants

Concentrating solar thermal power plants represent a promising option for the use of renewable energies. Here, the incident solar radiation is concentrated at a so-called receiver surface, which is cooled by a heat transfer medium. Due to the outstanding heat transfer properties of molten metals under these conditions, the application of liquid metals for concentrating solar power plants is investigated. In particular, we look at liquid metal-specific modifications of design rules for receivers, heat exchangers, pumps, the very important aspect of thermal storage and other key components. more

Operational experience is gained and experiments are conducted in a solar furnace, called SOMMER. more

 

High temperature thermal storage systems

Energy storage systems can provide energy on-demand and balance fluctuating renewable energy sources. In concentrating solar power plants, for example, solar energy is converted into thermal energy, which can then be stored in a thermal energy storage system. The energy stored in this system is then converted into electricity via a connected steam power process at a later time. By using liquid metals heat can be stored at temperatures above 600 °C, which are typical for energy-intensive high-temperature industrial processes. At KALLA, the cyclic behaviour of a pilot-scale thermocline storage system with lead-bismuth and an integrated packed bed will be examined. more

 

Contact:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wetzel
Tel. +49 721/608-46447
thomas.wetzel∂kit.edu

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Karlsruher Flüssigmetalllabor (KArlsruhe Liquid Metal LAboratory, KALLA)

Herzlich willkommen auf der Internetpräsenz des Karlsruher Flüssigmetalllabors KALLA! Auf den nachfolgenden Seiten möchten wir Ihnen einen kleinen Eindruck von unserer Arbeit geben.

Zögern Sie bitte nicht, uns zu kontaktieren, wenn Sie weiterführende Fragen und Anliegen haben:

thomas.wetzel∂kit.edu

 

KALLA

 

Unsere Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen in den nachfolgenden Themenfeldern:
 

Thermohydraulik von Schwermetallschmelzen

Im Rahmen mehrerer Projekte werden verschiedene Versuche zur Strömungscharakterisierung und zum Wärmeübergang von Metallschmelzen bei der Durchströmung generischer oder komplexer Geometrien durchgeführt. Als Versuchsfluide werden Blei, Blei-Wismut, Natrium und Indium-Gallium-Zinn eingesetzt. Für die Durchführung der Versuche verfügt das KArlsruhe Liquid metal LAboratory (KALLA) über Flüssigmetallkreisläufe im Pilotmaßstab (z.B. für die Stabbündelkühlung von Blei-Wismut). Für die Erfassung der Messdaten ist eine umfassende Messtechnikausrüstung vorhanden. mehr

 

Flüssigmetalltechnologie für konzentrierende Solarthermische Kraftwerke

Konzentrierende Solarthermische Kraftwerke stellen eine vielversprechende Option der Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien dar. Dabei wird die einfallende Sonnenstrahlung punktuell konzentriert und so ein Wärmeträgermedium erhitzt. Aufgrund der unter diesen Bedingungen hervorragenden Wärmeübertragungseigenschaften von Metallschmelzen wird die Anwendung von Flüssigmetallkreisläufen für konzentrierende Solarkraftwerke am KALLA untersucht. Im Speziellen soll anhand von Pilotstudien herausgefunden werden, wie die Energieübertragungskette (z.B. Hochtemperaturreceiver und -speicher) in einem solchen Kraftwerk dargestellt werden kann.   mehr

Auf Basis der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse und entwickelten Modelle soll im Zuge dieses Projekts die Pilotanlage SOMMER konstruiert und aufgebaut werden. mehr

 

Thermische Energiespeicher auf Flüssigmetallbasis

Energiespeicher sind die Schlüsseltechnologie für die Energiewende, da sie in der Lage sind die Schwankungen in der Bereitstellung aus erneuerbaren Energien auszugleichen sowie eine bedarfsgerechte Energieversorgung zu gewährleisten. In konzentrierenden Solarkraftwerken beispielsweise wird Sonnenenergie in Wärmeenergie umgewandelt, welche dann in thermischen Energiespeichern gespeichert werden und später bei Bedarf in einem Dampfkraftprozess zur Erzeugung von Strom verwendet werden kann. Die Nutzung von Flüssigmetallen ermöglicht die Wärmespeicherung bei Temperaturen jenseits 600 °C, wodurch diese auch für industrielle Hochtemperaturprozesse einsetzbar sind. Am KALLA wird in einem Pilotversuch das zyklische Verhalten eines Schichtenspeichers mit Blei-Wismut und integrierter Schüttung untersucht. mehr

 

Kontakt:
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wetzel
Tel. 0721/608-46447
thomas.wetzel∂kit.edu