Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

COSMOS-H (Anlage im Bau)

COSMOS-H (under construction)

Critical heat flux On Smooth and MOdified Surfaces – High pressure loop

Contact: stephan.gabriel∂kit.edu; giancarlo.albrecht∂kit.edu;

The COSMOS-H facility is being built for the experimental investigation of flow boiling- and other complex flow phenomena possibly occurring in nuclear power plants. Initially it will be used in the context of the Nuclear Safety Research by the group Accident Analysis at the Institute for Nuclear and Energy Technologies (IKET). After commissioning of the facility, physical phenomena like flow boiling are studied under prototypic thermodynamic conditions with pressures up to 170 bar (17 MPa) and temperatures up to 360°C. The facility permits a heating power of 2 MW for heating and evaporation. It uses liquid water and steam as working fluid.

Figure 1: CAD model of the high-pressure facility, view from the north


Besides investigations of boiling phenomena COSMOS-H allows the study of other issues related to heat transfer, and material and component testing in the field of power plant engineering, and chemical and process engineering. The special quality of the experimental results is assured by the unique instrumentation of the water loop and test section in combination with high pressures and temperatures.

Table 1 - Design parameters

In cooperation with the Institute of Chemical Engineering (TVT), measurements for the development and validation of new CFD methods will be performed as part of the project NUBEKS. The objective is the visualization and recording of flow conditions at the onset of boiling crisis under reactor typical conditions. Therefore the TVT is currently building a modular high-pressure test section with extensive instrumentation.

Figure 2: CAD model of the high-pressure facility, view from the west

The modular test section will be equipped with a large number of thermocouples and pressure sensors as well as windows, which will provide a direct optical access to the flow. These sight glasses will be used for high-speed imaging and optical measurements like LDA or PIV. For the NUBEKS experiments the test section will be equipped with a single heated rod in an annular gap; in the course of the project it is planned to perform measurements at a rod bundle.

Figure 3: CAD model of the test section

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

COSMOS-H (Anlage im Bau)

COSMOS-H (Anlage im Bau)

Critical heat flux On Smooth and MOdified Surfaces – High pressure loop

Gruppe: Unfallanalysen; Gruppenleiter: alexei.miassoedov∂kit.edu

Kontakt: stephan.gabriel∂kit.edu; giancarlo.albrecht∂kit.edu; florian-peter.kaiser∂kit.edu;

Die Thermohydraulik Versuchsanlage COSMOS-H wird für die Untersuchung von Siedephänomenen und komplexen Strömungsphänomenen die in Kraftwerken auftreten können errichtet. Sie wird zunächst im Rahmen der Reaktorsicherheitsforschung  von der Gruppe Unfallanalysen am Institut für Kern- und Energietechnik (IKET) eingesetzt. Nach der Inbetriebnahme können physikalische Vorgänge, wie die bei Erreichen der kritischen Wärmestromdichte auftretende Siedekriese, unter prototypischen thermodynamischen Bedingungen mit Drücken bis zu 170 bar und Temperaturen bis zu 360°C untersucht werden. Dabei steht eine Heizleistung für die Beheizung und Verdampfung des Arbeitsmediums Wasser von knapp 2 MW zur Verfügung.

1. CAD Modell der Hochdruckanlage Ansicht aus Norden


Darüber hinaus ermöglicht COSMOS-H die Untersuchung von Fragestellungen zur Wärmeübertragung und Material- und Komponentenerprobung, die auf dem Gebiet der Kraftwerkstechnik, sowie in der Chemie- und Ver¬fahrens¬technik von Interesse sind. Die besondere Qualität der experimentellen Ergebnisse entsteht durch die einzigartige Kombination des hohen Instrumentierungsgrades von Anlage und Teststrecke bei gleichzeitig hohen Drücken und Temperaturen.

Tabelle 1 - Auslegungsparameter der Anlage

Für das Verbundprojekt NUBEKS (Numerische Beschreibung kritischer Siedevorgänge) werden in Kooperation mit dem Institut für Thermische Verfahrenstechnik (TVT) Messungen für die Entwicklung und Validierung von neuen CFD-Codes zur Berechnung und Prognose der Siedekrise durchgeführt. Dabei sollen die bei einsetzender Siedekrise auftretenden Strömungszustände unter reaktortypischen Bedingungen vollumfänglich erfasst werden. Zu diesem Zweck baut das TVT derzeit eine modulare Hochdruckteststrecke mit umfangreicher Instrumentierung.

2. CAD Modell der Hochdruckanlage Ansicht aus Westen

Diese modulare Teststrecke wird, trotz der anspruchsvollen Betriebsbedingungen, auch mit mehreren Schaugläsern ausgerüstet sein. Diese ermöglichen es, zusätzlich zur konventionellen Instrumentierung, auch Hochgeschwindigkeitsaufnahmen der Strömung herzustellen und optische Messmethoden einzusetzen. Im Rahmen von NUBEKS werden an dieser Teststrecke Untersuchungen an einem einzelnen beheizten Stab im Ringspalt durchgeführt. Im weiteren Projektverlauf sind auch Messungen an einem Stabbündel geplant.   

3. CAD-Modell der Teststrecke