Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

RODOS - Decision support systems

Decision support systems for emergency management after nuclear or radiological accidents go into operation in case of a real release of radioactive material. Their main task is to collect and evaluate all those data and information in a fast, continuous, comprehensive and consistent manner, which are necessary to take well-founded decisions on emergency actions and countermeasures for the protection of people. Users of decision support systems are all those regional, national and international institutions and organisations responsible for nuclear emergency management in their countries. In Germany, these are the emergency response centres of the Federal States and the Federal Government.

We have been developing the real-time on-line decision support system RODOS for operational use in the national emergency centres of European countries since about 1990. During the European Commission’s 4th Framework Programme terminated in 1999, 40 institutions from 20 countries of the EU, the GUS Republics Belarus, Russia and Ukraine, as well as Poland, Hungary, Czech and Slovak Republic and Romania were involved in the RODOS development. In the participating countries, the RODOS system was installed in its newest prototype version. Main responsibility for the system developments and the co-ordination of the RTD work was with the Accident Consequence Group of the Institute for Nuclear and Energy Technologies (IKET) of Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe (now KIT).

The first operational version RODOS PV4.0 for real-time and on-line use in national emergency centres was released at the end of 2000. Together with our European contract partners, we werecontinuously improving and completing the RODOS system within the framework of the Integrated Project EURANOS of the European Commission’s 6th Framework Programme, running until 2009. The work programme has been defined mainly by the feedback received, the experience gained and the needs expressed by the current and future users of the system.

Following an initiative of the German Ministry of Environment (BMU), the hardware and software components of the RODOS system were configured and installed in the premises of the Zentralstelle des Bundes (ZdB) at the Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS) in Neuherberg near Munich. After the installation and test phases in 2001, the RODOS system is now operationally used by 10 end-users in the Federal States and the Federal Government.

The European Commission has funded the installation of RODOS in national emergency centres of the Slovak Republic and Poland (May 2000), Hungary and Ukraine (end of 2001), Slovenia (end of 2004) and the Czech Republic (mid 2005) within the TACIS, PHARE and ECHO Programmes. The installation of RODOS in Russia, Romania and Bulgaria has been completed.

Moreover, a number of West European countries use the system in their emergency centres. To that purpose, the system has already been installed in Portugal, Spain, Finland, Belgium and the Netherlands. The operation of RODOS in Austria started at the end of 2004.At present the installation in Switzerland is ongoing. Together with the RODOS installation, all necessary network connections to the data providers (monitoring systems, meteorological measurements and prognoses) and the remote users are established.

In order to broaden the co-operation on decision support systems and their future use in emergency centres of European countries, the network of RTD institutes was extended by the inclusion of the current and future users. Within this DSSNET network of 35 partners, supported by the European Commission and co-ordinated by us, the user experiences were commonly evaluated and incorporated in the work programmes for enhancing the decision support systems for practical application in emergency centres. This network wasmaintained within the EURANOS project, operating in particular theRODOS Users Group. In the 7thFramework Programme, the European project NERIS continues the work started in EURANOS focusing on the world wide usage of decision support systems and the establishment of a Platform that attracts all organizations with interest in emergency management and long term rehabilitation in Europe and possibly worldwide.

More details about the status of the RODOS system and its Europe wide installation can be found on our RODOS Web Site https://resy5.iket.kit.edu/RODOS/.

Information about the EURANOS project can be obtained from https://euranos.iket.kit.edu/.

Information related to the NERIS Platform and Proejct can be found under http://www.eu-neris.net/

Contacts:
Wolfgang Raskob
KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Institute for Nuclear and Energy Technologies (IKET)
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
D- 76344 Eggenstein-Leopildshafen
Telephone: +49 721 608 22480
Fax: +49 721 608 25508
e-mail: Wolfgang.Raskob∂kit.edu

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

RODOS - Entscheidungshilfesysteme

Entscheidungshilfesysteme für den Notfallschutz nach kerntechnischen oder radiologischen Unfällen kommen im konkreten Fall einer Freisetzung von radioaktivem Material zum Einsatz. Ihre Hauptaufgabe ist es, alle Informationen, die zur Entscheidung über Maßnahmen zum Schutz der Bevölkerung notwendig sind, schnell, kontinuierlich, konsistent und umfassend zur Verfügung zu stellen. Benutzer von Entscheidungssystemen sind die mit dem Notfallschutzmanagement beauftragten regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Institutionen und Organisationen. In Deutschland sind dies die entsprechenden Einsatzzentralen des Bundes und der Länder.

Wir entwickeln das Echtzeit-Entscheidungshilfesystem RODOS (Real-time On-line DecisiOn Support) für den operationellen Einsatz in Notfallschutzzentralen europäischer Länder seit etwa 1990. Während des in 1999 beendeten 4. Rahmenprogramms der Europäischen Kommission waren an der Entwicklung von RODOS etwa 40 Institutionen aus nahezu 20 Ländern der EU, den GUS Republiken Weißrußland, Rußland und der Ukraine, sowie Polen, Ungarn, den Tschechischen und Slowakischen Republiken und Rumänien beteiligt. In den genannten Ländern wurde das RODOS System in seiner jeweils neuesten Prototypversion installiert. Hauptverantwortlich für die Systementwicklung und die Koordination der Entwicklungsarbeiten ist bzw. war die Arbeitsgruppe "Unfallfolgen" des IKET im Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe.

Die erste operationelle Version PV4.0 des RODOS Systems zum Echtzeit- und On-line-Betrieb in Notfallschutzzentralen haben wir Ende 2000 fertiggestellt. Zusammen mit unseren europäischen Vertragspartnern werden wir das RODOS System im Rahmen von F&E-Vorhaben des EURANOS-Projekts des 6. Rahmenprogramms der Europäischen Kommission bis etwa zum Jahr 2008 hinsichtlich seiner Inhalte und Funktionalitäten kontinuierlich verbessern und vervollständigen. Dabei wird das Arbeitsprogramm im wesentlichen durch die Erfahrungen und Wünsche der derzeitigen und künftigen RODOS Benutzern definiert.

Auf Initiative des BMU wurden von uns die Hardware- und Software- Komponenten des RODOS System zum Betrieb im Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz (BfS) bei der Zentralstelle des Bundes (ZdB) in Neuherberg nahe München konfiguriert und installiert. Nach der Einrichtungs- und Testphase in 2001 läuft der operationelle Betrieb der RODOS Zentrale derzeit für 10 Benutzer des Bundes und der Länder.

Die Europäische Kommission finanzierte mit Mitteln aus den TACIS-, PHARE- und ECHO- Programmen die Errichtung des RODOS Systems in den nationalen Notfallschutzzentralen der Slowakischen Republik und Polens (Mai 2000), Ungarns und der Ukraine (Ende 2001), Sloweniens (Ende 2004) und der Tschechischen Republik (2004/2005). Die Installation von RODOS in Russland, Rumänien und Bulgarien vorgesehen.

Darüber hinaus beabsichtigen eine Reihe westeuropäischer Länder die Nutzung von RODOS in ihren Notfallschutzzentralen. Hierzu wurde das System bereits nach Portugal, Spanien, Finnland und in die Niederlande ausgeliefert, die Inbetriebnahme in Österreich wurde Ende 2004 abgeschlossen: Ähnlich wie in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland erfolgt in den genannten Ländern die Installation von RODOS an zentraler Stelle in den zuständigen nationalen Notfallschutzzentralen. Mit der RODOS Installation werden auch sämtliche Netzwerkverbindungen zu den Datenlieferanten (Messsysteme, meteorologische Prognosen) und den am Entscheidungsprozess beteiligten Institutionen hergestellt.

Um die Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der Entscheidungshilfesysteme und ihrem zukünftigen Einsatz in europäischen Notfallschutzzentralen auf eine breitere Basis zu stellen wurde das Netzwerk der Entwicklungsteams um die jetzigen und zukünftigen Benutzer erweitert. In dem von der Europäischen Kommission geförderten und von uns koordinierten Netzwerk DSSNET mit derzeit 35 Partnern wurden bis Ende 2004 die Benutzerfahrungen gemeinsam ausgewertet und bei der Verbesserung von Entscheidungshilfesystemen zum praktischen Einsatz unter allen Betriebsbedingungen von Notfallschutzzentralen berücksichtigt. Das Netzwerk der RODOS Benutzer und Entwickler wird im Rahmen des EURANOS Projekts fortgeführt, wobei der RODOS Users Group eine besondere Bedeutung zukommt.


Genauere Angaben zum Stand des RODOS Systems mit seiner europaweiten Installation befinden sich auf unserer Homepage https://resy5.iket.kit.edu/RODOS/.
Informationen zum EURANOS Projekt enthält die Homepage https://euranos.iket.kit.edu/.
Informationen zur NERIS Plattformund NERIS-TP Projekt finden Sie unter http://www.eu-neris.net/

Kontaktadresse:
Wolfgang Raskob
KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Institut für Kern- und Energietechnik
Postfach 3640
76021 Karlsruhe
Tel: +49 721 608 22480
Fax: +49 721 608 25508
E-mail: Wolfgang.Raskob∂kit.edu